LANDMARKS ILLINOIS: Landmarks Illinois Will Honor Berglund Construction, Daniel Levin and Toni Preckwinkle in March at 2018 Legendary Landmarks Celebration

Landmarks Illinois issued the following announcement on Jan. 16.

Landmarks Illinois, a membership-based nonprofit organization advocating for the preservation and reuse of historic and architecturally significant properties throughout the state, will host its 13th annual Legendary Landmarks Celebration the evening of Thursday, March 8, 2018, at the Hilton Chicago, 720 S. Michigan Ave.

Each year, Landmarks Illinois' Legendary Landmarks Celebration honors civic and cultural leaders who are making an impact on Chicago and Illinois. Landmarks Illinois' 2018 Legendary Landmarks Honorees are:

Berglund Construction, our 2018 "Corporate Landmark," with the honor being accepted by third-generation Owner Fred Berglund

Daniel Levin, Founder and Chairman of The Habitat Company

Toni Preckwinkle, Cook County Board President

"These exceptional leaders have devoted their careers to investing in the people and places that make Chicago one of the world's great cities," said Bonnie McDonald, Landmarks Illinois President & CEO. "Thanks to the ongoing work of our 2018 Legendary Landmarks Honorees, Chicagoans have attractive, safe and authentic places to live and work and distinct places to enjoy together. Landmarks Illinois looks forward to paying tribute to these worthy individuals and corporations at our Legendary Landmarks Celebration."

More about Landmarks Illinois 2018 Legendary Landmarks Honorees

Berglund Construction provides general contracting, restoration, construction management and design build services. This 107-year-old, family-owned company is well known for important historic restoration projects. Accepting the honor of Corporate Landmark is Fred Berglund, President and third-generation Owner. Fred has expanded Berglund's new building and restoration services during his executive tenure, while maintaining the firm's core values of client satisfaction, innovation and operational excellence.

Civic and business leader Daniel Levin is Founder and Chairman of The Habitat Company. He is attributed with transforming Chicago's skyline with numerous residential towers and sparking the revitalization of River North with his founding of the East Bank Club, where he is CEO. The Habitat Company's more than 20,000 units under management encompass affordable, market-rate and senior housing. In addition, Daniel is a contributor to and champion of important social and environmental causes.

Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle has been a dedicated community leader and supporter of preservation activities for more than two decades. As Cook County Board President, she has worked collaboratively to implement major reforms and reshape county government. Preckwinkle previously served 19 years as Alderman of the 4th Ward, where she supported creating historic districts and design guidelines for compatible infill.

Additional event information

Landmarks Illinois' 2018 Legendary Landmarks Celebration will begin at 5:30 p.m. with a cocktail reception. An awards program and dinner will take place at 7 p.m., and a dessert reception will follow at 8:45 p.m.

Since 2006, Landmarks Illinois' Legendary Landmarks Celebration has honored over 40 individuals, families and corporations at is annual fundraiser. You can view our full list of Legendary Landmarks Honorees at our website,

The 2018 Legendary Landmarks Celebration is expected to attract more than 800 guests who will enjoy an inspiring evening of tributes to our Legendary Landmarks Honorees, as well as dinner, drinks and entertainment. Guests will have the opportunity to greet friends and enjoy cocktails at both pre- and post-dinner networking receptions. It is anticipated that the Celebration will drive record-breaking support for Landmarks Illinois' mission-driven programs and fund nearly 80% of the Advocacy Program, which is the heart of LI's work.

The 2018 Legendary Landmarks Celebration Host Committee members are Joseph M. Antunovich, Richard H. Driehaus, Jean Follett (Co-Chair), Richard Friedman (Co-Chair), Shelley Gorson, Frieda Ireland, Judi Male (Co-Chair), Col (IL) Jennifer N. Pritzker, IL ARNG (Ret), Sandra Rand, Janet Rotner, Martin V. Sinclair, Jr., and Anne Voshel.

Event Reservations

Individual reservations for the celebration begin at $500 per person. Table reservations for 10 people are available at $5,000, $10,000, $25,000 and $50,000 levels. Underwriting opportunities are also available for program features. To view more reservation and sponsorship options, visit

Source link:

Want to get notified whenever we write about Landmarks Illinois ?

Sign-up Next time we write about Landmarks Illinois, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Landmarks Illinois

More News

Metro Business Network